Google is now officially adding the “Undo Send” option to the main settings of the Web version of Gmail.
The Undo Send feature was first introduced to Gmail in March 2009 and has been in the Labs section of Gmail ever since. Gmail Labs is where new features are tested, which means users must manually switch on any feature they wish to use.
Undo Send will now give users a period of time after clicking “Send” to change their mind. The option to reverse an email will show up on the screen for between 5 to 30 seconds. The amount of time allowed for an email to be unsent can be customized by the user.
The Undo Send option will now appear in the “General” tab within settings. If the feature was already being used in the Labs setting it will be switched on by default. If not, users must manually go into their settings and check the box next to “Enable Undo Send.”
Inbox, Google’s experimental mobile email app, will also feature the Undo Send option.